INSIGHT AND FORESIGHT

November 16, 2013

RIP. TANVIR AHMAD KHAN

Filed under: Uncategorized — sharafs @ 3:14 pm

Image

Today is a sad day. I am sad on learning of your journey to the next abode. During our twenty years journey laced in pain, regrets and hope for Pakistan, we were together in many discussions. Forever, you were an optimist.

But you also fought another battle with ill health that was laced in pain and agony. Finally, the angel of death prevailed to which we all have to surrender.
YOU GAVETH AND YOU TAKETH. MAY YOUR NAME BE PRAISED.

I recall the television program hosted my me on Sohni Dharti that you consented to grace. It was a very incisive and objective piece. After the show we sat together at Nana’s Kitchen. You were not in good health. On my inquiry you mentioned bad health and old age but no cancer.

I remember those long chats in 1997-2000 we had outside the Defence and Strategic Studies Department of Qaid e Azam University during breaks followed by visits to ISS you headed. As faculty members, there is so much we discussed and learnt.

The last time I called you was to discuss an OPED I was writing. You told me you were at the last stage of your cancer and needed peace. I prayed for you and that was it.

I tried calling but for the shutdown due to Moharram. Your contacts in my cell phone will remain.

I always have a special regard and respect for the children of Partition and the painful exodus for a new home rich in promise and hope. That home is still struggling and we are all Powindas here. One day, there will be a better Pakistan.

You will always be there. I pray for your soul and may You Rest in Peace my Sir.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

